top of page

October 13th 2016 AGM Minutes

Johnstone Community Council

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of Johnstone Community Council held on Thursday 13th October 2016 at 7.00pm in Johnstone Town Hall.


Members: Ron Ewing, Carol Ewing, Linda Flint, Elizabeth Forrest, Daniel Graham, Catherine Johnstone, Sheila King, Dennis Lavery, Christina Leon, Valerie Reilly and Thomas Wallace.

Also in attendance:-

Councillors (Ward 7) – John Hood, Stephen McGee, Iain McMillan.

(Ward 8) – Derek Bibby, Andy Doig, Christopher Gilmour.

1 member of the public was also present.

1. Apologies

Wilma Dean and Councillor John Caldwell.

2. Minutes

The minutes of the previous AGM were read and agreed.

Proposed by Sheila King

Seconded by Carol Ewing

3. Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

4. Chairman’s Report

Ron Ewing gave the Chairman’s report and began by extending thanks to former Secretary George Kennedy and congratulations to him on the birth of his grandson.

RE noted that this had been the first year in office for all three office bearers and all had experienced a steep learning curve. One move had been to try and bring in experts to discuss topics of concern.

JCC has managed to increase its membership over the current year, however more new members would still be very welcome.

5. Treasurer’s Report

Carol Ewing reported that she had had the accounts audited by Mr Robert Currie of Grants Chartered Accounts in Glasgow. It was noted that his £50 fee had been passed on to the ‘Smoky Paws’ charity who work with the fire brigade to provide oxygen masks to treat animals caught up in domestic fire incidents.

The balance of funds at 30th September 2016 was recorded as £3295.47.

6. Secretary’s Report

Sheila King reported on some of the activities undertaken over the past year and thanked the membership for bearing with her in her first year in office.

7. Election of Office Bearers

Ron Ewing thanked all office bearers and CC members for their hard work over the past year before standing down to allow elections to take place. Councillor Doig took the Chair and asked for nominations for the position of Chairman.

Ron Ewing was proposed by Carol Ewing and Seconded by Elizabeth Forrest. There being no other nominations RE resumed the position for Chairman.

RE asked for nominations for the position of Treasurer. Carol Ewing was proposed by Brian Ewing and Seconded by Valerie Reilly. There being no other nominations Carol Ewing was duly elected.

RE asked for nominations for the position of Secretary. Sheila King was proposed by Ron Ewing and seconded by Catherine Johnstone. There being no other nominations Sheila King was duly elected.


No further matters were raised.

There being no further business the meeting closed at 7.30pm.

The next AGM will be held in the Marriage Suite of Johnstone Town Hall in October 2017.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page